

## MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

**DATE: April 12, 2023** 

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 115/2023

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Sport, Culture and Heritage

## **O**RDER

1. The following persons are appointed as members of The Manitoba Heritage Council (the "Council"). Their terms of office will commence on April 12, 2023 and expire on April 11, 2026, and will continue until their successors are appointed, unless their appointments are revoked before that date.

Jacqueline Jackson Lawrence Prout Bill Hillman

2. The following persons are appointed as members of the Council. Their terms of office will commence on April 12, 2023 and expire on April 11, 2025, and will continue until their successors are appointed, unless their appointments are revoked before that date.

Rebecca Chartrand Renee Kastrukoff Daniel Donahue Janet La France

3. The following persons are appointed as members of the Council. Their terms of office will commence on April 12, 2023 and expire on April 11, 2024, and will continue until their successors are appointed, unless their appointments are revoked before that date.

Sue-On Hillman Gary Dyck Dr. Gordon Goldsborough

- 4. Jacqueline Jackson is appointed as the Presiding Member of the Council.
- 5. Rebecca Chartrand is appointed as the Deputy Presiding Member of the Council.
- 6. The appointments of Cheryl Gilarski and Penny Shaw are revoked.
- 7. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

## **A**UTHORITY

The Heritage Resources Act (C.C.S.M. c. H39.1) states:

- 56(1) There is hereby established a council to be known as "The Manitoba Heritage Council".
- 56(2) The council shall consist of not fewer than 9 members, to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.
- The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint one of the members of the council as the presiding member and another as the deputy presiding member thereof.
- The members of the council shall hold office for such period of time as may be fixed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and thereafter until their successors are appointed.

56(7) The members of the council may receive such remuneration for their services as the Lieutenant Governor in Council may approve, and such reimbursement for out-of-pocket expenses necessarily incurred by them in performing those services as the minister may deem reasonable.

## **BACKGROUND**

- 1. Sharon Reilly was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 151/2014. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2016 and Jacqueline Jackson is her successor.
- 2. Andy Blicq was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 240/2015. His appointment expired on June 30, 2017 and Rebecca Chartrand is his successor.
- 3. Tom Monteyne was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 151/2014. His appointment expired on June 30, 2016 and Lawrence Prout is his successor.
- 4. Marcella Vezina was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 369/2014. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2017 and Bill Hillman is her successor.
- 5. Sharain Jones was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 240/2015. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2018 and Sue-On Hillman is her successor.
- 6. Michelle Smith was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 151/2014. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2016 and Renee Kastrukoff is her successor.
- 7. Derm English was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 151/2014. His appointment expired on June 30, 2016 and Daniel Donahue is his successor.
- 8. Stephen Hayter was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 151/2014. His appointment expired on June 30, 2017 and Gary Dyck is his successor.
- 9. Dr. Lynn Whidden was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 369/2014. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2016 and Janet La France is her successor.
- 10. Dr. David McCrady was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 369/2014. His appointment expired on June 30, 2017 and Dr. Gordon Goldsborough is his successor.
- 11. Cheryl Gilarski was appointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 416/2015. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2018.
- 12. Penny Shaw was reappointed as a member of the Council by Order in Council 240/2015. Her appointment expired on June 30, 2018.
- 13. When this Order is in effect, the Board will consist of the following ten members:

Members:	Term Expires
Jacqueline Jackson, Presiding Member	April 11, 2026
Rebecca Chartrand, Deputy Presiding Member	April 11, 2025
Lawrence Prout	April 11, 2026
Bill Hillman	April 11, 2026
Sue-On Hillman	April 11, 2024
Renee Kastrukoff	April 11, 2025
Daniel Donahue	April 11, 2025
Gary Dyck	April 11, 2024
Janet La France	April 11, 2025
Dr. Gordon Goldsborough	April 11, 2024