

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: **July 15, 2009**

ORDER IN COUNCIL NO.: 00222 / 2009

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Health

ORDER

1. Dr. Hazel Wiebe of Winkler and Dr. Maralyn MacKay of Selkirk, both psychiatrists, are appointed as members of the Mental Health Review Board (the "Review Board"), and are added to the roster of psychiatrist members of the Review Board. Their appointments continue until they resign or their appointments are revoked by order of the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

2. The appointments of the following members of the Review Board are revoked:

Dr. Barry Campbell of Winnipeg,

Dr. Roger Graham of Selkirk,

Dr. Andre de Rocquigny of Winnipeg, and

Vivienne Jakobson of Winnipeg.

3. The remuneration to be paid to the members of the Review Board is:

(a) Lawyers/Chair - \$80.00 per hour, or

\$280.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or

\$550.00 per full day.

(b) Lay Members - \$60.00 per hour, or

\$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or

\$425.00 per full day.

(c) Psychiatrists - Paid based on speciality and location of service at the

sessional rates established for medical practitioners

under

the Sessional Rates for Services Regulation,

made under *The Health Services Insurance Act*, as amended from time to time.

- 4. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 5. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

AUTHORITY

The Mental Health Act, C.C.S.M. c. M110, states:

| No | | | | | | | |
|----|--|--|--|--|--|--|--|
| | | | | | | | |

Mental Health Review Board.

49(1) There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

Roster of members

49(2) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

BACKGROUND

- 1. Dr. Barry Campbell of Winnipeg was appointed to the Review Board by Order in Council 901/1991, and he resigned on October 20, 2004.
- 2. Dr. Roger Graham of Selkirk was appointed to the Review Board by Order in Council 328/1998, and he resigned on November 15, 2007.
- 3. Dr. Andre de Rocquigny of Winnipeg was appointed to the Review Board by Order in Council 907/1991, and he resigned on July 11, 2007.
- 4. Vivienne Jakobson of Winnipeg was appointed to the Review Board by Order in Council 714/1989, and she is deceased.
- 5. It is advisable to appoint two additional psychiatrists to the roster of psychiatrists of the Review Board.
- 6. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:

| Lawyer members Jacob Janzen Ellen Fleishman Rosemary Hnatiuk Robert Johnston Albina Moran Bill Sumerlus Koren Kaminski Patricia Lane Dr. Jeff Ivey | Psychiatrist members Dr. Michael Dyck Dr. Samia Barakat Dr. Stanley Yaren Dr. Pat Wightman Dr. Donna Anderson Dr. Keith Hildahl Dr. Frances Edye Dr. Glen Lowther Dr. Marc C. Telliet Dr. Dane Hershberg | Lay members Barbara Manning Prof. Joseph Nnadi Annette Osted Jackie Greenhalgh Mervyn Jones Teresa Banman John Gow Vacancy |
|--|--|--|
| | Dr. Marc C. Telliet | vacancy |

•