

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: **April 18, 2012**

ORDER IN COUNCIL NO.: 00170 / 2012

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Health

ORDER

- 1. Allan Fineblit of Winnipeg is designated as chairperson of the Manitoba Health Appeal Board (the Board).
- 2. Kristine Barr of Winnipeg is appointed as a member of the Board for a term of office expiring on April 30, 2015, unless her appointment is revoked before that date.
- 3. The following persons are reappointed as members of the Board, each for a term of office expiring on April 30, 2015 unless his or her appointment is revoked before that date:

Dr. June James of Winnipeg; and

Howard Mathieson of Winnipeg.

4. The remuneration to be paid to the members of the Board for attending Board hearings, meetings, conferences, etc. is:

(a) chairperson \$256.00 per $\frac{1}{2}$ day (up to 3.5 hours) or

\$446.00 per day (3.5 hours or more);

(b) members who are not

physicians

\$146.00 per $\frac{1}{2}$ day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$255.00 per day (3.5 hours or more);

- (c) members who are physicians are to be paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established for medical practitioners by the Sessional Rates for Services Regulation (made under The Health Services Insurance Act (C.C.S.M. c. H35)), as amended from time to time.
- 5. The remuneration to be paid to the members of the Board for pre-hearing preparation, post-hearing work and duties unrelated to hearings is:

(a) chairperson \$74.33 per hour;

(b) members who are not physicians \$42.50 per hour;

- (c) members who are physicians are to be paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established for medical practitioners by the Sessional Rates for Services Regulation (made under The Health Services Insurance Act (C.C.S.M. c. H35)), as amended from time to time.
- 6. If the vice-chairperson is required to act as chairperson, the vice-chairperson shall be paid at the rate of remuneration payable to the chairperson.

No	
----	--

- 7. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable travel and out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 8. This Order comes into effect May 1, 2012.

AUTHORITY

The Health Services Insurance Act, C.C.S.M. c. H35, states:

Manitoba Health Appeal Board established

9(1) The Manitoba Health Appeal Board is established consisting of not less than five members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Term of office

9(2) A member shall be appointed to hold office for the term specified in the order by which he or she is appointed, and shall continue to hold office until the member is reappointed, a successor is appointed or the appointment is revoked.

Chairperson and vice-chairperson

9(3) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall designate one of the members to be chairperson of the board and another to be vice-chairperson.

Remuneration and expenses

9(4) The members of the board shall be paid remuneration and receive reasonable expenses at rates determined by the Lieutenant Governor in *The • Act*, C.C.S.M. c. •, states:

BACKGROUND

Member

- 1. Robert Filuk was appointed as a member, and was designated as chairperson, of the Board by Order in Council 65/92. Kristine Barr succeeds him as a member of Board.
- 2. Allan Fineblit was appointed as member of the Board by Order in Council 78/2011, for a term of office that expires on April 30, 2013. It is considered appropriate to designate him as chairperson of the Board.
- 3. Dr. June James was appointed as a member of the Board by Order in Council 278/2004, and her term of office expires April 30, 2012.
- 4. Howard Mathieson was appointed as a member of the Board by Order in Council 7/2007, and his term of office expires April 30, 2012.
- 5. When this Order is in effect, the Manitoba Health Appeal Board will consist of the following members:

Term Expires

MEMBEL	Terri Expires
Allan Fineblit , Chairperson (Winnipeg) Anne McGarry, Vice-Chairperson (Winnipeg) Dr. Armarjit Singh Arneja (Winnipeg) Adrian Challis (Winnipeg) Brian Ellis (Winnipeg) Dr. June James (Winnipeg) Claudette Labossière (Somerset) Howard Mathieson (Winnipeg) Rhonda Wiebe (Winnipeg) Dr. Bonnie Cham (Winnipeg) Denyse Cote (Winnipeg) Jagjit Polly Pachu (Winnipeg) Richard Kennett (Winnipeg)	April 30, 2013 April 30, 2013 April 30, 2013 January 31, 2014 September 18, 2013 April 30, 2015 September 18, 2013 April 30, 2015 April 30, 2013 April 30, 2013 April 30, 2013 September 18, 2013 September 18, 2013
Patrick Caron (Winnipeg)	September 18, 2013
Kristine Barr (Winnipeg) Vacant	April 30, 2015