

MANITOBA

ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: November 4, 2020

ORDER IN COUNCIL NO.: 303/2020

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Health, Seniors and Active Living

ORDER

- 1. The appointment of Robert Olson, lawyer, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 2. Laura Nagy, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2022 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 3. Dr. Taghreed Hassan, psychiatrist, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2023 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 4. Dr. Fariba Eghtedari, psychiatrist, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2023 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 5. Christopher Kozier, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2023 and will continue to hold office until he is reappointed, his appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 6. Kyle Mirecki, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2023 and will continue to hold office until he is reappointed, his appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 7. Treena Ross is reappointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on October 28, 2020 and expiring on October 27, 2023 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 8. The remuneration to be paid to members of the Mental Health Review Board is:
 - (a) Lawyers/Chair: \$80.00 per hour, or \$280 per half day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$550 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (b) Lay members: \$60.00 per hour, or \$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or \$425.00 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (c) Psychiatrists: Paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established for medical practitioners under the Sessional Rates for Services Regulation, made under The Health Services Insurance Act, as amended from time to time.
- 9. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Mental Health Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 10. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

Authority

Mental Health Review Board

49(1) There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

Roster of members

49(2) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers, and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

Panels

49(3) The review board must sit in panels of three members and each panel is to be composed of

- (a) a lawyer who is to be chairperson of the panel;
- (b) a psychiatrist; and
- (c) a member who is neither a lawyer nor a psychiatrist.

Background

- 1. Robert Olson, lawyer, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 00271/2018. His appointment is revoked. His successor on the Mental Health Review Board is Laura Nagy.
- 2. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:

Lawyers (Chairs) Krista Boryskavich Christopher Debicki Ceci Kaufman Christopher Kozier James Lowry Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy Norm Sims Gerri Wiebe Psychiatrists Frances Edye Fariba Eghtedari Michael Eleff Murray Enns Taghreed Hassan Keith Hildahl Jack Kettler Mark Lander Maralyn MacKay Joseph Polimeni Marc Teillet Hazel Wiebe Stanley Yaren Vacant Lay members Ms. Tejinder Bains Pamela McCallum Beazley Sharon Bissonnette Candice Cancade Aline Nostedt Treena Ross Maureen Stitt Morene Weinstein