

# MANITOBA

# ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: August 10, 2021

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 282/2021

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Mental Health, Wellness and Recovery

## **ORDER**

- 1. The appointment of Christopher Debicki, lawyer, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 2. The appointment of Gerri Wiebe, lay member, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 3. The appointment Tejinder Bains, lay member, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 4. The appointment of Treena Ross, lay member, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 5. Nunziata Masi, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2023 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 6. Zahra Hosseini, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2024 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 7. Dr. Graeme Omelan, psychiatrist, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2024 and will continue to hold office until he is reappointed, his appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 8. Darlene Grantham, lay member, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2024 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- Teresa Jaenen, lay member, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2024 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 10. Dr. Morene Weinstein, lay member, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on August 11, 2021 and expiring on August 10, 2024 and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 11. The remuneration to be paid to members of the Mental Health Review Board is:
  - (a) Lawyers/Chair: \$80.00 per hour, or \$280 per half day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$550 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
  - (b) Lay members: \$60.00 per hour, or \$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or \$425.00 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
  - (c) Psychiatrists: Paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established for medical practitioners under the Sessional Rates for

Services Regulation, made under The Health Services Insurance Act, as amended from time to time.

- 12. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Mental Health Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 13. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

# Authority

The Mental Health Act, C.C.S.M. c. M110, states:

### **Mental Health Review Board**

49(1) There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

### **Roster of members**

49(2) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers, and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

### Panels

- 49(3) The review board must sit in panels of three members and each panel is to be composed of
- (a) a lawyer who is to be chairperson of the panel;
- (b) a psychiatrist; and
- (c) a member who is neither a lawyer nor a psychiatrist.

# **Background**

- Christopher Debicki, lawyer, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 395/2013 for an indefinite term until he resigns or his term is revoked. His appointment is being revoked. His successor on the Mental Health Review Board is Zahra Hosseini.
- 2. Gerri Wiebe, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 336/2014 for an indefinite term until she resigns or her term is revoked. Her appointment is being revoked. Her successor on the Mental Health Review Board is Nunziata Masi.
- 3. Tejinder Bains, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 372/2009 for an indefinite term until she resigns or her term is revoked. Her appointment is being revoked. Her successor on the Mental Health Review Board is Teresa Jaenen,
- 4. Treena Ross, lay member, was reappointed by Order in Council No. 303/2020. She passed away June 2021. Her successor on the Mental Health Review Board is Darlene Grantham.
- 5. Dr. Morene Weinstein, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 248/2019. Her term of office has expired.
- 6. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:

# Lawyers (Chairs) Krista Boryskavich Zahra Hosseini Ceci Kaufman Christopher Kozier James Lowry Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy Norm Sims

# Psychiatrists Frances Edye Fariba Eghtedari Michael Eleff Murray Enns Taghreed Hassan Keith Hildahl Jack Kettler Mark Lander Maralyn MacKay Graeme Omelan Joseph Polimeni Marc Teillet Hazel Wiebe Stanley Yaren

# Lay members

Pamela McCallum Beazley Sharon Bissonnette Candice Cancade Darlene Grantham Teresa Jaenen Aline Nostedt Maureen Stitt Morene Weinstein