

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: December 15, 2021

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 469/2021

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Mental Health, Wellness and Recovery

ORDER

- 1. The appointments of Dr. Maralyn MacKay, Dr. Joseph Polimeni, Dr. Jack Kettler and Dr. Murray Enns, psychiatrists, to the Mental Health Review Board are revoked.
- 2. Dr. Rajat Jayas, psychiatrist, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term of three (3) years commencing on the day this Order is made and will continue to hold office until he is reappointed, his appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 3. Norman Sims, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term of three (3) years commencing on the day this Order is made and will continue to hold office until he is reappointed, his appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 4. Krista Boryskavich, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term of two (2) years commencing on the day this Order is made and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 5. Pamela McCallum Beasley, lay member, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board, for a term of three (3) years commencing on the day this Order is made and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 6. Sharon Bissonnette, lay member, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board, for a term of two (2) years commencing on the day this Order is made and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 7. Candice Cancade and Aline Nostedt, lay members, are reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board, each for a term of one (1) year commencing on the day this Order is made and they will continue to hold office until they are reappointed, their appointments are earlier revoked, or until their successors are appointed.
- 8. The remuneration to be paid to members of the Mental Health Review Board is:
 - (a) Lawyers/Chair: \$80.00 per hour, or \$280 per half day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$550 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (b) Lay members: \$60.00 per hour, or \$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or \$425.00 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (c) Psychiatrists: Paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established for medical practitioners under the Sessional Rates for Services Regulation, made under The Health Services Insurance Act, as amended from time to time.
- 9. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Mental Health Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 10. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

The Mental Health Act, C.C.S.M. c. M110, states:

Mental Health Review Board

49(1) There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

Roster of members

49(2) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers, and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

Panels

- **49(3)** The review board must sit in panels of three members and each panel is to be composed of
- (a) a lawyer who is to be chairperson of the panel;
- (b) a psychiatrist; and
- (c) a member who is neither a lawyer nor a psychiatrist.

BACKGROUND

- Dr. Maralyn MacKay, psychiatrist, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 222/2009 for an indefinite term until she resigns or her appointment is revoked. She has resigned.
- 2. Dr. Joseph Polimeni, psychiatrist, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 169/2012 for an indefinite term until he resigns or his appointment is revoked. He has resigned.
- 3. Dr. Jack Kettler, psychiatrist, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 146/2013 for an indefinite term until he resigns or his appointment is revoked. He has resigned.
- 4. Dr. Murray Enns, psychiatrist, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 429/2016 for an indefinite term until he resigns or his appointment is revoked. He has resigned.
- Norman Sims, lawyer, Pamela McCallum Beazley, lay member, and Sharon Bissonnette, lay member, were appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018. Their terms of office have expired.
- Krista Boryskavich, lawyer, Candice Cancade, lay member, and Aline Nostedt, lay member, were appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018 for terms expiring on December 31, 2021.
- 7. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:,

Zahra Hosseini Dr. Fariba Eghtedari Sharon Bissonnette Ceci Kaufman Dr. Michael Eleff Candice Cancade Christopher Kozier Dr. Taghreed Hassan Darlene Grantham	Lawyers (Chairs)	Psychiatrists	Lay members
Nunziata Masi Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy Norman Sims Dr. Mark Lander Dr. Graeme Omelan Dr. Marc Teillet Dr. Morene Weinstein Dr. Hazel Wiebe Dr. Stanley Yaren Dr. Rajat Jayas	Zahra Hosseini Ceci Kaufman Christopher Kozier James Lowry Nunziata Masi Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy	Dr. Fariba Eghtedari Dr. Michael Eleff Dr. Taghreed Hassan Dr. Keith Hildahl Dr. Mark Lander Dr. Graeme Omelan Dr. Marc Teillet Dr. Hazel Wiebe Dr. Stanley Yaren	Candice Cancade Darlene Grantham Teresa Jaenen Aline Nostedt Maureen Stitt