

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: January 18, 2022

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 2/2022

RECOMMENDED BY: President of Executive Council

ORDER

- 1. The Honourable Heather Dorothy Stefanson, the President of the Executive Council, continues to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs and International Relations.
- 2. The Honourable Clifford James Cullen, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Economic Development, Investment and Trade.
- 3. The Honourable Kelvin Goertzen, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Justice and Attorney General and as Keeper of the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba and as Minister responsible for the Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation.
- 4. The Honourable Cameron Scott Friesen, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Finance and as Minister responsible for Manitoba Hydro.
- 5. The Honourable Scott Bradley Fielding, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Natural Resources and Northern Development and as Minister responsible for the Manitoba Liquor and Lotteries Corporation.
- 6. The Honourable Eileen Gwendolyn Clarke, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Municipal Relations.
- 7. The Honourable Rochelle Jeannette Squires, a Member of the Executive Council, continues to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Families and as Minister responsible for Accessibility and as Minister responsible for Francophone Affairs and is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister responsible for the Status of Women.
- 8. The Honourable Jeff Wharton, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Environment, Climate and Parks and as Minister responsible for Efficiency Manitoba.
- 9. The Honourable Reg Helwer, a Member of the Executive Council, continues to hold office during pleasure as Minister responsible for the Civil Service and is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Labour, Consumer Protection and Government Services and as Minister responsible for the Public Utilities Board.
- 10. The Honourable Sarah Guillemard, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Mental Health and Community Wellness.
- 11. The Honourable Wayne L. Ewasko, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Education and Early Childhood Learning.
- 12. The Honourable Derek Johnson, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Agriculture.
- 13. The Honourable Audrey Gordon, a Member of the Executive Council, continues to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Health.

- 14. The Honourable Alan Dean Lagimodiere, a Member of the Executive Council, continues to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Indigenous Reconciliation and Northern Relations.
- 15. The Honourable Jon Roneal Reyes, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Advanced Education, Skills and Immigration.
- 16. The Honourable Doyle Piwniuk, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure.
- 17. The Honourable Scott Johnston, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Seniors and Long-Term Care.
- 18. The Honourable Andrew Smith, a Member of the Executive Council, is appointed under the Great Seal of the Province of Manitoba to hold office during pleasure as Minister of Sport, Culture and Heritage and as Minister responsible for the Manitoba Centennial Centre Corporation and as Minister responsible for Travel Manitoba.
- 19. Order in Council 395/2021, as amended by Order in Council 473/2021, is rescinded.
- 20. This Order is effective immediately.

AUTHORITY

The Executive Government Organization Act, C.C.S.M. c. E170, states:

Presiding over departments

3(1) The Lieutenant Governor in Council may appoint, under the Great Seal of the province, from among the ministers, to hold office during pleasure, a President of the executive council and ministers to preside over the several departments and to discharge such duties, exercise such powers and perform such functions as he may prescribe; and the Lieutenant Governor in Council may determine the titles by which those ministers shall be known.

Additional departments

3(2) One minister may be appointed to preside over two or more departments.

Ministers without departments

3(3) Where a minister does not preside over a department, an appointment under subsection (1) is not required.

. . .

Transfer of minister's duties, etc.

5(1) The Lieutenant Governor in Council may transfer and assign to any minister, by name, title or otherwise, any or all of the powers, duties and functions given or imposed by law to or on any other minister.

Exercise of transferred powers, etc.

5(2) Where any or all of the powers, duties and functions of a minister are transferred to another minister under subsection (1), the minister to whom the powers, duties and functions are transferred may exercise the powers and perform the duties and functions under his title or the title of the minister from whom they are transferred.

Reference to minister or department

5(3) If an Act, regulation, order or other document that refers to a minister by title, or to a department, is affected by an order in council made under this section or section 8, it is to be read as if it were amended as necessary to give effect to that order.