

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: **July 6, 2022**

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 295/2022

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Mental Health and Community Wellness

ORDER

1. The appointment of Zahra Hosseini, lawyer, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.

- Tamara McCaffrey, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on July 6, 2022 and expiring on July 5, 2025, and will continue to hold office until she is reappointed, her appointment is earlier revoked, or until a successor is appointed.
- 3. The remuneration to be paid to members of the Mental Health Review Board is:
 - (a) Lawyers/Chair: \$80.00 per hour, or \$280 per half day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$550 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (b) Lay members: \$60.00 per hour, or \$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or \$425.00 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
 - (c) Psychiatrists: Paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established by agreement with Doctors Manitoba.
- 4. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Mental Health Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 5. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

Authority

The Mental Health Act, C.C.S.M. c. M110, states:

Mental Health Review Board

49(1) There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

Roster of members

49(2) The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers, and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

Panels

- **49(3)** The review board must sit in panels of three members and each panel is to be composed of
- (a) a lawyer who is to be chairperson of the panel;
- (b) a psychiatrist; and
- (c) a member who is neither a lawyer nor a psychiatrist.

Background

1. Zahra Hosseini, lawyer, was appointment to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 282/2021. She has resigned.

2. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:

Lawyers (Chairs) Krista Boryskavich Ceci Kaufman Christopher Kozier James Lowry Nunziata Masi Tamara McCaffrey Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy Norman Sims

Psychiatrists Frances Edye Michael Eleff Fariba Eghtedari-Namin Candice Cancade Taghreed Hassan Keith Hildahl Rajat Jayas Mark Lander Graeme Omelan Marc Teillet Hazel Wiebe Stanley Yaren

Lay members Pamela McCallum Beazley **Sharon Bissonnette** Darlene Grantham Teresa Jaenen Aline Nostedt Maureen Stitt Morene Weinstein