

MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

DATE: August 10, 2022 ORDER IN COUNCIL NO.: 336/2022 RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Health

ORDER

- 1. Alana Parashin is appointed as a member of the Manitoba Health Appeal Board (the "Board") for a term of three (3) years commencing on August 10, 2022 and expiring on August 9, 2025, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, and continuing thereafter until she is reappointed, a successor is appointed, or her appointment is revoked.
- 2. Andrea Doyle is reappointed as a member of the Board for a term of two (2) years commencing on August 10, 2022 and expiring on August 9, 2024, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, and continuing thereafter until she is reappointed, a successor is appointed, or her appointment is revoked.
- 3. Ian Craven is reappointed as a member of the Board for a term of three (3) years commencing on August 10, 2022 and expiring on August 9, 2025, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, and continuing thereafter until he is reappointed, a successor is appointed, or his appointment is revoked.
- 4. The remuneration to be paid to the members of the Board who are not physicians is \$146.00 per $\frac{1}{2}$ day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$255.00 per day (3.5 hours or more).
- 5. The remuneration to be paid to the members of the Board who are not physicians for prehearing preparation, post-hearing work and duties unrelated to hearings is \$42.50 per hour.
- 6. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable travel and out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 7. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

AUTHORITY

The Health Services Insurance Act, C.C.S.M. c. H35, states:

Manitoba Health Appeal Board established

9(1) The Manitoba Health Appeal Board is established consisting of not less than five members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

Term of office

9(2) A member shall be appointed to hold office for the term specified in the order by which he or she is appointed, and shall continue to hold office until the member is reappointed, a successor is appointed or the appointment is revoked.

Remuneration and expenses

9(4) The members of the board shall be paid remuneration and receive reasonable expenses at rates determined by the Lieutenant Governor in Council.

BACKGROUND

- 1. Andrea Doyle was reappointed as a member of the Board by Order in Council No. 264/2019. Her term of office has expired. She is being reappointed as a member of the Board.
- 2. Ian Craven was appointed as a member of the Board by Order in Council No. 264/2019. His term of office has expired. He is being reappointed as a member of the Board.

- 3. When this Order is in effect, the Board will consist of the following members:
 - Members Joan Holmstrom, Chair Dr. Rajinder Bhullar, Vice-Chair lan Craven Andrea Doyle Robert Duttchen Lisa Fainstein Dr. Roger Lee Gingerich Elaine Graham Dr. Allen Kraut Alan McLauchlan Edna Nabess John Peters Monica Wood George Kolomaya Alana Parashin
- Expiry Date December 14, 2022 December 14, 2023 August 9, 2025 August 9, 2024 December 14, 2024 December 14, 2024 August 6, 2023 December 14, 2023 December 14, 2023 August 6, 2023 December 14, 2023 December 14, 2023 December 14, 2022 May 31, 2025 August 9, 2025