

# MANITOBA ORDER IN COUNCIL

**DATE: March 15, 2023** 

ORDER IN COUNCIL No.: 73/2023

RECOMMENDED BY: Minister of Mental Health and Community Wellness

## **O**RDER

- 1. The appointment of Darlene Grantham, lay member, to the Mental Health Review Board is revoked.
- 2. Rishi Bharath, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, or until he is reappointed or his successor is appointed.
- 3. Temilola Farinloye, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 4. Martin Glazer, lawyer, is appointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, or until he is reappointed or his successor is appointed.
- 5. Brett Deitzer is appointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, or until he is reappointed or his successor is appointed.
- 6. Carol Delorme is appointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 7. Gord Henrikson is appointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, or until he is reappointed or his successor is appointed.
- 8. Celia Kaufman, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 9. James Lowry, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless his appointment is revoked before that date, or until he is reappointed or his successor is appointed.
- Laura Nagy, lawyer, is reappointed to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 11. Candice Cancade is reappointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 12. Aline Nostedt is reappointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.
- 13. Maureen Stitt is reappointed as a lay member to the Mental Health Review Board for a term commencing on March 15, 2023 and expiring on March 14, 2026, unless her appointment is revoked before that date, or until she is reappointed or her successor is appointed.

- 14. The remuneration to be paid to members of the Mental Health Review Board is:
  - (a) Lawyers/Chair: \$80.00 per hour, or \$280 per half day (up to 3.5 hours) or \$550 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
  - (b) Lay members: \$60.00 per hour, or \$210.00 per half day (up to 3.5 hours), or \$425.00 per full day (up to 7.0 hours)
  - (c) Psychiatrists: Paid based on speciality and location of service at the sessional rates established by agreement with Doctors Manitoba.
- 15. In addition to remuneration, the members of the Mental Health Review Board are to be reimbursed for reasonable out-of-pocket expenses incurred in carrying out their responsibilities, as provided in the General Manual of Administration for the Province of Manitoba.
- 16. This Order comes into effect the day it is made.

# **Authority**

The Mental Health Act, C.C.S.M. c. M110, states:

#### **Mental Health Review Board**

**49(1)** There shall be a Mental Health Review Board to hear and consider applications under this Act.

### **Roster of members**

**49(2)** The Lieutenant Governor in Council shall appoint a roster of psychiatrists, lawyers, and persons who are not psychiatrists or lawyers as members of the review board.

#### **Panels**

- **49(3)** The review board must sit in panels of three members and each panel is to be composed of
- (a) a lawyer who is to be chairperson of the panel;
- (b) a psychiatrist; and
- (c) a member who is neither a lawyer nor a psychiatrist.

## Background

- Darlene Grantham, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 282/2021. She has resigned.
- 2. Celia Kaufman, lawyer, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018. Her term of office has expired.
- 3. James Lowry, lawyer, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 34/2020. His term of office has expired.
- 4. Laura Nagy, lawyer, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 303/2020. Her term of office has expired.
- Candice Cancade, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018 and reappointed by Order in Council No. 469/2021. Her term of office has expired.
- Aline Nostedt, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018 and reappointed by Order in Council No. 469/2021. Her term of office has expired.
- 7. Maureen Stitt, lay member, was appointed to the Mental Health Review Board by Order in Council No. 271/2018. Her term of office has expired.
- 8. When this Order is in effect, the Mental Health Review Board will consist of the following members:

Lawyers (Chairs)	Psychiatrists	Lay Members
Rishi Bharath	Frances Edye	Pamela McCallum Beazley
Krista Boryskavich	Michael Eleff	Sharon Bissonnette
Temilola Farinloye	Fariba Eghtedari-Namin	Candice Cancade
Martin Glazer	Taghreed Hassan	Brett Deitzer
Ceci Kaufman	Keith Hildahl	Carol Delorme
Christopher Kozier	Rajat Jayas	Gord Henrikson
James Lowry	Mark Lander	Teresa Jaenen
Nunziata Masi	Graeme Omelan	Aline Nostedt
Tamara McCaffrey	Marc Teillet	Maureen Stitt

Kyle Mirecki Laura Nagy Norman Sims

Hazel Wiebe Stanley Yaren

Morene Weinstein